Valentine’s Bookshelf Wall

I guess this is what’s called “nesting.”

On Valentine’s Day, I made a bookshelf- for my Valentine(s). I have always wanted to have a wall full of books, and something this house is really lacking is storage, so this wall bookshelf both tidies up the space and cozies up the room.

First Sketch


First, I sat down and drew my idea on a piece of paper. I put Bear in the drawing to make it seem more real. Then I did a 3D drawing with Google Sketch Up. It’s a pretty cool, free program.

Google Sketch Up

frame

braces

I cut the braces and put them in place to see what it will look like, then I started gluing them in place and securing them with screws.

with books

Then we put some books up there, and it almost looks finished!

ambience

We won’t burn these candles while they’re up there, but it makes for a nice photo. Hmmm…

"leveling"

I built the bookshelf to be level, but the room is so crooked, it looked very strange. So, I removed the books, lifted the shelf with the car jack, and put new braces underneath which were 1 inch higher on the right side.

in daylight

The next day, it looks like a part of the room.

dedication

Before I covered up the bottom with the baseboard, I inscribed a dedication in case anyone ever sees this again.

pot lights

Halogen pot lights (and the remaining braces) finish it off nicely! Now this is a room we want to spend time in!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cmaybs
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 04:56:31

    You’re totally nesting and it looks so good! Can’t wait to see what other projects you’ve down around the place!! xox

    Reply

  2. Heather O
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 11:40:53

    Fabulous work, Paul. I wish you could have seen our house in 1984. It was a wreck. Homes are a labour of love!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

